Sensors Council Young Professionals

The IEEE Sensors Council Young Professionals is the group of members and volunteers who have graduated from their first professional degree within the past 15 years. It is an international community, whose members are interested in elevating their professional image, expanding their global network, connecting with peers locally and giving back to their community. Since it encompasses all members from recent university graduates to experienced professionals and entrepreneurs, the group is highly diverse in what it has to offer.

View the Young Professionals Photo Gallery


  • Building continuity into student programs, transitioning to Young Professionals membership, and senior IEEE/Sensors Council membership

  • Provide students and young professionals with career services, conferences and seminars, and networking opportunities

  • Educate students on Young Professionals membership and IEEE member benefits


Virtual Symposium on Sensor Technologies (ViSiT)

IEEE Sensors Council Young Professional Hackathon 2021

YP Past Events


Young Professionals Award Recipients
The YP Award is given annually to promote, recognize and support contributions from young professional members within the fields of interest of the IEEE Sensors Council.

  • 2020 – Hamida Hallil

  • 2019 – Hadi Heidari

  • 2018 – Omer Tolga Inan

  • 2017 – Dr. Pai-Yen Chen

  • 2016 – Dr. Alper Bozkurt

  • 2015 – Matteo Rinaldi

  • 2014* – Not Awarded

  • 2013* – Carlos Ruiz Zamarreño

  • 2012* – Sinéad O’Keeffe

  • 2011* – Dr. Bhaskar Choubey

  • 2010* – Dr. Ville Viikari

Awards Archive

*From 2010-2014 the award was named the Early Career GOLD Award and changed in 2015 to the Sensors Council Young Professionals Award.

Sensors Council YP Committee

If you are interested in getting involved with Sensors Council YP or becoming a YP committee member, please contact the YP Program Committee Chair, Oliver Ozioko.